The Ministry of Education, National Reconciliation and Ecclesiastical Affairs is pleased to announce the names of the recipients of the National Awards for the academic year 2015/2016.

The following sixteen (16) students are deemed to have the best claims to these awards based on their performance in the May/June 2016 Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examinations (CAPE), of the Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC).



  • Richard John
  • Avril Hamilton
  • Rhea Cain
  • O’Sini Lewis
  • Deiriai Myers
  • Luzanne Edwards
  • Kelsey Dowers
  • Jodi Porter




  • Natalia Trotman
  • Kerron Glasgow
  • Kyra Matthias
  • Dillon Michael
  • Chanelle Mondesir




  • Nafesha Richardson
  • Elizabeth Simmons
  • Franceska Allen


The most outstanding performance was recorded by Richard John who gained nine passes in the CXC: Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examinations. Richard sat Applied Mathematics, Caribbean Studies, Chemistry, Communication Studies, Computer Science, Digital Media, Integrated Mathematics, Physics and Pure Mathematics. He will receive the Prime Minister’s Award for his performance in the examinations.


Recipients of the National Scholarship receive full funding for a five-year period of study. Recipients of the Exhibition awards receive three years’ full funding for their studies, while Bursary awardees receive twenty thousand dollars each year for a three-year period.


The awardees will be recognized on Wednesday, October 26th, 2016, at the annual Schools’ Independence Rally at Victoria Park.

SOURCE: Ministry Of Education, National Reconciliation & Ecclesiastical Affairs


Minister of Education
Hon. St. Clair Prince
Want to have some fun while learning? Click Me
Hi there!!
Students at CPEA examination
Our Mission
To provide all persons of the state life long learning opportunities appropriate to their developmental needs and to ensure quality of education that will equip them with the required values, skills, attitude and knowledge necessary for creating and maintaining a productive, innovative and harmonious society.

Contact Information

Permanent Secretary

Ms. Morine Williams 
Telephone: (784) 457-1104
PBX: (784) 456-1111 Ext: 441


The Ministry of Education is located on Halifax Street, within the same compound as the Ministry of Transport, Works, Urban Development and Local Government.